General Meeting Information

Date: November 26, 2018
Time: 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.
Location: ADM 109

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    2:30 - 2:35 p.m. Approval of Agenda & Minutes from November 5 Meeting A
    • Chow
    • All
    2:35 - 2:55 p.m. Needs and Confirmations I/D/A Pape
    2:55 - 3:15 p.m. Senate Taskforce on Course Scheduling & Enrollment Management (Updated & 2nd read of charge, mission, committee composition) I/D/A
    • Chow
    • Tarikh
    • All
    3:15 - 3:30 p.m. Policing task Force Report I/D Stockwell
    3:30 - 3:45 p.m. Campus and District Smoking Policy (2nd read & action)


    • Sullivan
    • Chow
    3:45 - 3:55 p.m. UndocuAlly Request (2nd discussion & action) I/D/A Nava
     3:55 - 4:05 p.m. California Virtual Campus Online Education Initiative (CVC – OEI) I/D Chow
    4:05 - 4:25 p.m. Guided Pathways Work & College Convocation I/D Chow
    4:25 - 4:35 p.m. Good of the Order and Appreciations I All

    A = Action
    D = Discussion
    I = Information

  • Minutes

    Meeting Minutes

    Approval of Agenda & Minutes from November 5 meeting
    • Motion of approval of agenda by Cheryl, seconded by Mary S
    • Motion of approval of mins by Cheryl, seconded by Mary S

    Needs and Confirmations 
    • Kevin requested that the list of faculty names for consideration for confirmation not be sent out until after the deadline for submitting names.
    • Deadline for faculty to submit names for consideration for confirmation is Friday by 1pm for confirmation at the following Monday’s
    • Results of vote:
      • Mary Bennett and Kevin Glapion for Dean of DSPS Hiring committee
      • Mary Donahue and Dawnis Guevara for Dean of PE/Athletics Hiring committee
      • Susan Tavernetti and Yael Karmi for Dean of Creative Arts

    Senate Taskforce on Course Scheduling & Enrollment Management (Updated & 2nd read of charge, mission, committee composition)
    • Ishmael provided a summary of the changes that were made to the documents. 
    • Rob noted that counselors are not staff, but rather faculty, and it was proposed that one of the three faculty serving be from counseling; staff positions would be reduced to one.
    • Mary Sullivan made a motion to vote on the updated task force guidelines/composition with an additional counseling faculty and decreasing the number of classifieds to one. Motion Seconded by Susan Thomas.
      • discussion- none
      • Motion was approved with no opposition and no abstention.

    Policing Task Force Report 
    • Bob provided a summary of the recommendations of the Community Policing Taskforce (CPT) 
    • Karen asked: Can anyone attend the candidates' public forums for the hiring of the district chief? 
    • Bob will bring back an updated draft for Senate approval. 
    • Some faculty task force members would be interested in continuing the work of the committee. 
    • Contact Bob Stockwell for suggestions.

    Campus and District Smoking Policy (2nd read & action)

    UndocuAlly Request (2nd discussion & action)
    • Requesting $550 to support workshops in Fall, Winter, and Spring
    • Motion for $450 for snacks, and bring their own water bottle by Mary D
      • Mary S seconded, encouraged to include wording to encourage less water bottle usage
      • Bob would like to provide $550 to cover the entire period
      • Mary S - friendly amendment to the motion, that we retain the $550 with a request that they consider environmentally friendly water (and other environmentally friendly options). Mary D accepted the friendly amendment
      • 17 support, no opposition, no abstentions

    California Virtual Campus Online Education Initiative (CVC – OEI)

     Guided Pathways Work & College Convocation
    • Item was deferred to following week.
    • Save the Date: College convocation day Feb 22nd at the Kirsch Center
    • Plan: morning session will be focused on Guided Pathways

    Good of the Order and Appreciations
    • Mary S announcements (she will send to Karen)

    Officers and Senators

    Executive Committee Members Present

    Name Position Present
    Karen Chow President Y
    Mary Pape Vice President  Y
    Alicia Del Toro Executive Secretary/Treasurer Y
    Ishmael Tarikh PT Y
    Mary Donahue PT Y
    Paul Klingman App Tech  
    Vacancy App Tech  
    Bob Kalpin BHES  
    Gayatri Pal BHES Y
    Mia Breen Bus/CIS  
    Mary Pape Bus/CIS Y
    Ron Dunn CA Y
    Vacancy CA  
    Julie Kennedy CD&E  
    Betty Inouye Counseling  Y
    Rob Clem Counseling  Y
    Kevin Glapion DSPS  
    Anita Vazdifar DSPS Y
    Catie Cadge Moore ICS/IIS Y
    Veronica Neal ICS/IIS  
    Cheryl Balm PSME Y
    Lisa Mesh PSME Y
    Iva Tracey LA
    Kim Palmore LA Y
    Susan Thomas SSH Y
    MyLinh Pham SSH Y
    Louise Madrigal PE Y
    Vacancy PE  
    Tom Dolen LR Y
    Mary Sullivan SD Y
    Eric Woodbury Curriculum Committee  

    Guests Present

    Name Position Present
    Thomas Ray Administrator Liaison Y
    Josephine Lukius DASB Representative  
    Bob Stockwell Faculty Association Y
    Christina Espinosa-Pieb Interim De Anza President  
    Rob Mieso VP of Student Services  
    Lorrie Ranck Acting VP of Instruction  
    Susan Cheu VP of Administrative Services  
    Hyon Chu Yi-Baker Director of College Life & Student Judicial Affairs  
    Marisa Spatafore Associate V of Communications & External Relations  
    Lorna Maynard Classified Senate President Y
    Hayman Wong De Anza Student Trustee  
    Mallory Newell Institutional Researcher  
    Moaty Fayek Dean of Business/Computer Info Systems  
    Renee Augenstein Articulation Officer  
    Mary Bennett Tenure Review Coordinator  
    Sheila White-Daniels Dean of Counseling  
    Vacancy Dean of Creative Arts  
    Alicia Cortez Dean of Equity and Engagement  
    Sam Bliss Interim Dean of Physical Education  
    Isaac Escoto FH Academic Senate President  
    Carolyn Holcroft FHDA District Academic Senate President  
    Pam Grey Associate VP of College Operations  
    Stacey Shears Dean of Disability Support Programs & Services  
    Anita Kandula Dean of Biological, Health, and Environmental Sciences  
    Michele LeBleu-Burns Dean of Student Development/EOPS  
    Lisa Mandy Director of Financial Aid  
    Vacancy Dean of Enrollment Services  
    Edmundo Norte Dean of Intercultural/International Studies  
    Jerry Rosenberg Dean of Physical Sciences, Math & Engineering  
    Judy Miner FHDA Chancellor  
    Dawn Lee Tu Faculty Director of Office of Professional Development  
    Carolyn Wilkins-Greene Dean of Social Sciences and Humanities  
    Kelly Swanson Director, Book Store  
    David Ulate FHDA Research & Planning  
    Michael Nijmeh La Voz Y
    Stephanie Lam La Voz Y

Documents and Links

Back to Top