A Note About Senate Meetings

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Academic Senate meetings are being conducted via Zoom until further notice. Under Governor Newsom's emergency orders, Zoom meetings satisfy Brown Act requirements for a publicly accessible meeting location. 

Academic Senate Summer 2021 Office Hours

The Academic Senate officers will continue to hold office hours via Zoom during the summer from July 7 through Sept. 1.  Office hours are Mondays 12:30-1:30 and Wednesdays 11:30-12:30

***Click here to reserve an office hours meeting time and receive the Zoom meeting link.***

About the Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is represented by all full-time and part-time members of the De Anza faculty and Foothill-De Anza Board of Trustees in promoting the quality of community college education. 

The Academic Senate includes all faculty members. Division senators and officers comprise the Executive Committee, which meets Mondays 2:30-4:30 p.m.  As of March 13, 2020, when the Foothill-De Anza Community College District closed its campuses due to COVID-19, the Academic Senate has been meeting online via Zoom.  Please use the  Meetings link on this page to see meeting agendas with Zoom links.

Under Academic Senate purview (10+1):

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters, namely, the following policy development and implementation matters:

  1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading Policies
  4. Educational program development, including Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs)
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. Governance structures as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty role in accreditation
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Policies for Program Review
  10. Instructional Planning and Budget
  11. Other Academic and Professional Matters

Needs and Confirmations

This spreadsheet contains confirmations from Fall 2018 through Summer 2020, including Tenure Review Committees, Hiring Committees and other committees. There is also a tab for all confirmation alphabetized by last name.  (Last updated 4/1/21)

Needs & Confirmations Spreadsheet

Process for Requesting Confirmation and Appointment of Faculty to Search Committees, Tenure Committees, and Shared Governance Committees

Faculty Hiring

The Faculty Search Committee Selection Process page explains the selection process for serving on faculty hiring committees at De Anza College and the role of the Academic Senate in this process.

FHDA District FT faculty employment policy and hiring procedures

Academic Senate Constitution & Bylaws

The latest versions of the constitution and bylaws, approved in Spring 2021, are available below.

Constitution: PDF and doc

Bylaws: PDF and doc

Honoring Sandra Diaz

Resolution honoring Sandra DiazThe Academic Senate Executive Committee has approved a resolution honoring our Nursing faculty colleague, Sandra Diaz, who died of COVID-19 complications on Jan. 29.

Sandra enriched the De Anza community, first as a student, and later through her tireless service as a part-time and then full-time faculty member, mentor, colleague and friend from 2016 to 2021. The resolution honors her outstanding service and contributions to De Anza College and the surrounding communities.

Black Lives Matter

We stand in solidarity with Black Lives Matter.

What Matters

AAPI Support and Solidarity

Stop AAPI Hate text

Resolution To Denounce Anti-Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) racism (passed March 15, 2021) 

Contact Academic Senate


President: Cheryl Jaeger Balm

Vice President: Mary Pape

Executive Secretary: So Kam Lee

Office Location: Adm 117

Phone: 408.864.8358

Call to Serve on Committees

To apply for an open faculty seat on a De Anza committee, please use the link below and complete the form.  (A statement with a maximum of 200 words is requested).


Shared Governance Review

Back to Top