General Meeting Information

Date: June 4, 2018
Time: 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.
Location: ADM 109

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    2:30 - 2:35 p.m. Welcome I Nguyen
    2:35 - 2:40 p.m. Approval of Agenda and notes from May 21st meeting A All
    2:40 - 2:45 p.m. Needs and Confirmation I/D/A Nguyen
    2:45 - 2:55 p.m.

    Associate Degree Credit for Advanced Placement Exams (Second Read)

    File here
    I/D/A Augensteing
    2:55 - 3:00 p.m. Update from Senate Election Committee


    • Balm
    • Karmi
    • Klingman
    3:00 - 3:10 p.m.

    Recommendation: IPBT faculty election in Spring 3 positions up for re-election in Fall

    • Khanna (IIS), Maynard (Auto), Leonard


    3:10 - 3:30 p.m.

    Resolution of No-Confidence in State Chancellor (First Read)

    Draft resolution here

    I/D Nguyen
    3:30 - 3:45 p.m.

    AP 4020 (2nd read)

    See updated AP Here

     I/D/A Nguyen
    3:45 - 4:00 p.m.

    Curriculum revisions for Senate Consideration

    I/D/A Woodbury
    4:00 - 4:25 p.m.

    GE/Communications Requirement - Revisited 

    • Woodbury
    • All
    • Guest
    4:25 - 4:30 p.m.

    Good of the Order

    I All
    • A = Action
      D = Discussion
      I = Information
  • Minutes

    Meeting Minutes

    • Visit from Dr.Murphy. he discussed the Governor's budget

    Approval of Agenda and notes from May 21st meeting
    • No objections of the agenda
    • Notes - no objections of the notes

    Needs and Confirmations
    • Monica Ganesh (Espinosa) Tenure Committee- replacement of Alicia Cortez with Erick Aragon, no objections
    • Cathy Patel Tenure Committee- no objections

    Associate Degree Credit for Advanced Placement Exams (Second Read)
    • Rob Clem motioned to approve, Mary S. seconded, no discussion, vote (approve 21, oppose 0, obstentions 0). Motion passed.

    Update from Senate Election Committee 
    • We had one candidate each for each office, so we are waiting on Alex Harrell for final confirmation of results.

    Recommendation: IPBT faculty election in Spring 

    3 positions up for re-election in Fall

    • Khanna (IIS), Maynard (Auto), Leonard (LA)
    • Discussion around work to contract and IPBT elections.
    • Next week poster making in meeting, rally for attendance at Board meeting.
    • Peter M- does not support an IPBT election, we should be working to contract.
    • Jim is going to draft by law changes  to present at the next meeting.

    Resolution of No-Confidence in State Chancellor (First Read)
    • No objections to moving forward with the resolution of no confidence

    AP 4020 (2nd read)

    See updated AP Here

    • May need to bring back for 3rd read due to lack of response from I. Escoto‚Äôs feedback.

    Curriculum Revisions for Senate Consideration

    Files shared via email

    • Update- Work to contract if impacting the ability of curriculum committee to get quorum 
    • Agenda (Tuesday, May 29, 2018) -  Mary Sullivan motioned to approve the agenda, seconded Mary D. no objections
    • Notes (Tuesday, May 29, 2018)
      •  (Mary Sullivan motioned to not approve the notes in support of work to contract, 
      • Mary D. this could hurt the instructors. Rob Clem states that this is part of our contractual obligations because curriculum is a subcommittee of Academic Senate.
      • Mary S rescinded motion due to comments made during discussion.
      • Alicia motioned to table until next week, Mary S. seconded. Question posed to FA: Is curriculum part of a primary duty under work to contract? Bob S. said that he will work to get an answer prior to next week. all in favor, one abstention

    GE/Communications Requirement - Revisited

    Presentation here

    • Anu presentation, on GE Criteria.  
      • Mary P motioned to rescind academic senate approval, withdrawn.
      • Mary D. motioned to go with option A (Allow the curriculum approval and in 5 years we will address according to the criteria in place), Paul K. seconded. 
        • Discussion - general support for fairness
        • Jeff Staudinger, Shagun, Brandan Gainer present
        • Vote (support 18, opposition 0, 2 abstentions)
    • Rescind prior action and creation of a committee to work towards a resolution, Mary P motioned, Pauline seconded, vote unanimously in favor. Jim will work with Anu to create committee.

    Good of the Order
    • Tom D. annual library sale June 11.
    • Hayman -  student voting guide 
    • Marc- next Wednesday, Thi Bui at library collaboration

    Officers and Senators

    Executive Committee Members Present

    Name Position Present
    Karen Chow President  
    Jim Nguyen Vice President  Y
    Alicia Del Toro Executive Secretary/Treasurer
    Yael Karmi PT
    Mary Donahue PT Y
    Paul Klingman App Tech  Y
    John Walton App Tech Y
    Bob Kalpin BHES
    Peter Miskin BHES
    Mia Breen Bus/CIS  
    Mary Pape Bus/CIS
    Milena Grozeva Levy CA
    Elizabeth Mjelde (on PDL in Fall) CA  
    Nellie Vargas CD&E  
    Pauline Wethington Counseling 
    Rob Clem Counseling 
    Kevin Glapion DSPS
    Anita Vazdifar DSPS
    Catie Cadge Moore IIS  
    Marc Coronado ICS/IIS
    Cheryl Balm PSME  
    Rani Fischer PSME
    Iva Tracey LA  
    Veronica Avila LA(Sp18) Y
    Laura Chin SSH Y
    My Linh Pham SSH
    Arden Kragalott PE  
    Scott Hertler PE  
    Tom Dolen LR Y
    Mary Sullivan SD Y
    Eric Woodbury Curriculum Committee Y

    Guests Present

    Name Position Present
    Brian Murphy DA Pres  Y
    Stacey Cook VPSS  
    Christina Espinosa-Pieb VPI  
    Susan Cheu VPFCO  
    Lorrie Ranck AVPI  
    TBA OSOD  
    Marisa Spatafore Mktng  
    Hayman Wong DASB Y
    Bob Stockwell FA Y
    Lorna Maynard CS Y
    Elias Kamal Student Trustee  
    Mallory Newell IR  
    Moaty Fayek Dean BS/CIS  
    Renee Augenstein Articulation  Y
    Mary Bennett Tenure Review  
    Sheila White-Daniels Dean Counseling  
    Nancy Canter Dean CA  
    Alicia Cortez Interim Dean, Equity and Engagement  
    Coleen Lee Wheat Dean PE  
    Isaac Escoto FH Academic Senate  
    Mayra Cruz District Academic Senate President  
    Pam Grey AVPCO  
    Stacey Shears DSP&S  
    Anita Kandula Dean BHES  
    Michele LeBleu-Burns Dean, Stud Dev/EOPS  
    Rob Mieso Associate VP of Student Services  
    Lisa Mandy Dir Finan Aid  
    Tamica Ward Enrollment Services Dean  
    Edmundo Norte Dean IIS  
    Thomas Ray Dean LA  
    Jerry Rosenberg Dean PSME  
    Judy Miner Chancellor  
    Dawn Lee Tu Office of Professional Development  
    Carolyn Wilkins-Green Dean SSH  
    Kelly Swanson Book Store  
    Mary Pape SLO  
    David Ulate FHDA Research & Planning  
    Jeff Staudinger ES department Y
    Shagun Communications Y
    Brendan Gainer Communications Y
    Nick Chivers Communications Y

Documents and Links

Back to Top