

De Anza College Film/TV Department & the Creative Arts Division

# The 45th Annual Student Film & Video Show

June 21, 2024

# **17th ANNUAL SCREENPLAY COMPETITION**

Below are the finalists for the 17th Annual Screenplay Competition, listed in alphabetical order. The winner is selected by Film/TV Faculty and will be announced the night of the show.

Nika Arasteh Lauren Noel Hellwig Mackenzie Jardine Francisco Silvestre Hernandez Ojeda Giselle Stancic Paths Unbound Read Between the Mattress There Was No Storm Beita Finding Sylvie

### STUDENT ACHIEVEMENTS 2023-2024

The Golden Gate International Film Festival - Sandy Chow & Sonya Tsao, volunteers.

Silicon Valley Video Summit at the Computer History Museum, Jan. 23 2024 - Students attended panels on virtual production, careers and networking.

**Dolby Labs, Sunnyvale field trip, Feb. 6 2024** - Students participated in a professional demonstration of color grading and toured Dolby's state-of-the-art facilities.

**The Animation Show of Shows, April 25 204** - Students attended a special screening of award-winning animated shorts and a Q&A with guest speaker, Ron Diamond.

"Rosie" by Veronica Santiago - Film/TV students crewed on this production.

**Nika Arasteh** - received an editing internship at Istudio Media and a job offer as social media manager and content creator for Rise Academy Islamic Center

Please consider giving a donation to support the Chadwick Okamoto Awards.

Gifts are tax deductible and will directly support students in the Film/TV Department programs at De Anza College.

Go to https://secure.donationpay.org/fhda/ to make a gift via the secure website. Designate "De Anza" and "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award"

OR

Print Gift Form and attach check payable to "FHDA Foundation." Please indicate "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award" at "De Anza" on Gift Form and memo line of check.

Mail to: FHDA Foundation, 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022

Thank you!

## **STUDENT SHORTS PROGRAM**

Metamorphosis	Class Project	F/TV 67A Principles of Animation	1:37
Words in the Wind	Kevin Patterson	F/TV 22 Beg. 16mm Motion Picture Prod.	3:31
Creep	Makella Campbell	F/TV 39 Int. Digital Film & Video Prod.	5:10
Don't Trust the Jester!	Niko Hester	F/TV 72J Animated Film Workshop	5:21
Aurelia	Jinglong Wang	F/TV 39 Int. Digital Film & Video Prod.	3:57
Laundry Day	Francisco Silvestre Hernandez Ojeda	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	8:05
No Country for Old Men	Brian Todd	F/TV 29 Lighting for Film & Television	4:08
Fossil Blossoms	Ryn M. Keeney	F/TV 72J Animated Film Workshop	4:09
Curbside Showdown	Zachary Francis	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	3:15
Нарру РІасе	Thompson-Dowd, Dunn, Acosta, Htet	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	4:18
Anyone There?	Cristian Ramirez Lomeli	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	7:24
Bully	Alina Campbell	F/TV 39 Int. Digital Film & Video Prod.	2:55
Save Me Some Sky	Ildefonso Martinez	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	5:14
Demon Cat	Melissa Landaverde	F/TV 72J Animated Film Workshop	1:38
Lord of the Fries	Carter Davis, Chris Freitas-Smith	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	5:08
Rain	Madison Elsie Lewis	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	2:16
Free	Shannon Silva	F/TV 66A Basic Tech. Anim: Stop Motion	5:54
Ghost Friend	Kiana Lee	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	5:18
Duas Irmãs	Francisco Silvestre Hernandez Ojeda	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	7:14
Skunk	Shannon Silva	F/TV 72J Animated Film Workshop	3:11
Empty Space in My Life	Samuel Leveille	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	4:45
One Step	Adrienne Makinano Nicole Ocray	F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production	4:53
Color Me	Jenny Pyeon	F/TV 66A Basic Tech. Anim: Stop Motion	1:36
A Dancer's Story	Bardia Samia	F/TV 30 Loc. Recording & Sound Design	6:58

### Sponsored by the Creative Arts Division

Special Acknowledgments Kristin Skager, Interim Dean of Creative Arts Debbie Lee & Sam Bliss, Interim Co-Deans of Creative Arts Daniel Smith, Dean of Creative Arts (Emeritus) Sam Bliss, Associate Vice President, Instruction Marisa Spatafore, Associate Vice President, Communications & External Relations Lydia Hearn, Interim Vice President, Instruction Christina G. Espinosa-Pieb, Interim President of De Anza College Lee D. Lambert, Chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza College District

Foothill-De Anza Community College District Board of Trustees: Patrick J. Ahrens, Laura Casas, Pearl Cheng, Peter Landsberger, Gilbert Wong Nicole Nguyen (Foothill Student Trustee), Javier Gomez Tagle (De Anza Student Trustee)

Foothill-De Anza Foundation Staff: Dennis Cima, Robin Latta, Leigh Howell, Melanie Reilly, Lindsay West, Kathy Nguyen, Victoria Dinh

### Film/TV Department Faculty

Milena Grozeva Levy, Mark Hamer, Joshua Losben, Rachel Silveria, Susan Tavernetti (Emerita)

#### Part-time Faculty

Joel Abramson, Kristen Anderson, Genevieve Freckelton, Thomas Gamburg, Warren Haack, Dennis Irwin, Alexandra Lacey, Michael Parks, Cole Quirk, Eduardo Rufeisen, Ingrid Schultz, Drew Todd, John Wise, Christina Wright, Amanda Harrington

> Staff Edward Breault (Video Systems Engineer), André Meggerson, Fernando Perez De La Rosa

Program Design Dennis Irwin (Cover Art), Mark Hamer (Program Layout)

#### Office of Communications

Brandon Bailey, Edwin Carungay, Juan Diaz, Jonathan Guillen, Alex Harrell, Steven Nguyen, Marisa Spatafore, Chelsey Taniguchi

> Special Thanks Nancy and Al Okamoto