Male coach and two students

Team & Scholar-Athlete Awards

2011-2012 Recognition and Awards

Congratulations to all the student athletes, coaches and staff involved with De Anza College Athletics this year.

Scholar-Athletes  recognized at  annual Athletics ceremony

Each year we honor second year student-athletes who have an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.  We also honor first-year student-athletes with an overall 3.0 GPA if they are transferring after this year.


You need Flash to see this slide show.


Click to view photos from the Scholar Athlete Recognition Ceremony.


Congratulations to everyone who met this academic goal, including our Scholar-Athlete of the Year scholarship winners and runners up!


Scholar-Athletes Scholarships

Four student athletes

From left:  Casey Showalter, Rayshone Fu, Melody Kuo and Bryce Nelson

Scholar-Athletes of the Year
($1000 scholarship)

Rayshone Fu (Swimming)
Casey Showalter (Softball)

Runners-Up: ($750 scholarship)

Melody Kuo (Badminton)
Bryce Nelson
(Men's Soccer)

Dons rank first place for 2011-2012
Coast Conference
All-Sports Award

The higher our teams finish in the Coast Conference standings, the more
points De Anza is awarded in the total All-Sports points standings.

We were  #1 out of 17 colleges for the fifth year in a row and 18 years out of 28.

  1. De Anza College 132
  2. CCSF  111.5
  3. Foothill College 109.5
  4. Cabrillo College 107
  5. Chabot College 102

Scholar-Athletes by Team


Melody Kuo
Tran Nguyen



Chris Freeman
Noamichi Furuta

Dalton Lopes
Steven Spivey
Craig Taubman


Men's Basketball

George Kipiani

Women's Basketball
Jennifer Le


Cross Country/Track & Field

Daniel Damian
Cristhian Montenegro
Emmanuel Gbando
Sorony Hiep
Joshua Tran

Brianna Tucker
Luisa Westley
Katherine Van de Pol



Roy Abousamra
Omar Al-Helew
Glyn Borel
Eduardo Lara
Emanuel Rodriguez


Men's Soccer

Manuel Montero
Bryce Nelson


Women's Soccer

Claudine Jimenez
Georgina Salazar
Marisol Sanchez



Marissa Ortiz
Casey Showalter
Kirstie Zimmerman


Swim & Dive/Water Polo

Danh Bui
Rayshone Fu
Carlos Gutierrez
William Maslak
Fred Rubio
Anderson Lam
Mitch Mikkelsen

Melanie Dovan
Katherine Klein
Jacqueline Lien
Jessica Vo
Lisa Yokoyama



Anastasia Glyantseva

Farren Casad  (1 year transfer)
Tyler Croisetiere



Patsy Gregory
Kandyss Keith
Katrina Parik


Scholar-AthletesContact: Matt Tropser
Phone: 408.864.8646
Office: PE-51E sizeplaceholder

Last Updated: 5/29/13