Awards and Achievements

Awards and Achievements

Faculty 2007-2008

With the leadership of Interim Vice President of Instruction John Swensson, weekend college classes were renewed and re-energized into the Weekend Collegeplus program. Weekend, evening, online and self-paced classes have been highlighted in the class schedule, making
them easy to find. Enrollment in Friday, Saturday and Sunday classes increased by 26% from
spring quarter 2007 to spring quarter 2008.

Art history instructor Catie Cadge-Moore was selected to participate in "2008 Andean Worlds: New Directions in Scholarship and Teaching," a summer institute co-sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and Community College Humanities Association. Scholars will
share the most recent developments in the field of Andean Studies through seminars, field study
and travel to Lima, Chiclayo, Trujillo, Pisac in the Sacred Valley and Cusco.

Instructor Randy Lomax, Dean of Counseling Howard Irvin, Foothill-De Anza student trustee Jordan Eldridge and other students took part in the YWCA's 6th Annual Walk a Mile in Her Shoes, an event to promote sexual assault awareness.

Rowena Tomaneng, co-director of the Institute of Community and Civic Engagement (ICCE), was selected as one of 10 leaders nationwide for the Campus Compact's New Leaders Organizing Team. The team was established to foster deeper collaborative dialogue, planning and action on campuses committed to civic and community engagement. Earlier this year she was selected to participate in the inaugural class of the Bridge-Building Leadership Initiative, a yearlong program that will bring together emerging and seasoned leaders of color who integrate service-learning agendas with the interests of stakeholders in diverse communities. Participants were chosen because of their deep commitment to promoting diversity, multicultural inclusion, equity and/or multicultural building work.

Lee Lesser, part-time faculty member in Child Development and Education, will teach "Making Room in the Circle: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Families in ECE Settings" at De Anza College, only the fourth location in the country to have the course as part of its curriculum. Lesser is one of the authors of the class and will be teaching it in June and July 2008.

Nicky Gonzalez-Yuen, chair of the Political Science Department, was elected vice president of the Peralta Community College Board of Trustees.

Karl Schaffer, math instructor, continued his travels and work promoting mathematics and dance via workshops, conferences, performances and professional presentations in such diverse places as Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, Queens College in New York, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, the University of Southern Florida, San Diego and Atlanta.

Kristin Jensen Sullivan, environmental studies instructor, published the article "Sustainability at De Anza: Past, Present and Future," featured in the spring 2008 issue of Faculty Association of California Community Colleges (FACCCTS) p.5.

Other Faculty Highlights

  • Dawnis Guevara, Women's Volleyball coach, was named Coast Conference Coach of the Year.
  • Arden Kragalott, Women's Basketball coach, was named Coast Conference Coach of the Year.
  • Cheryl Owiesny, Women's Soccer coach, was named Coast Conference Coach of the Year and also West Region Coach of the Year.
  • Matt Trosper, athletics academic adviser, was named to the Policy Committee of the California Community College Athletic Association.
  • Kulwant Singh, athletics director, was named to the National Alliance of Two-Year College Athletic Administrators and to the Management Council of the California Community College Athletic Association/Commission on Athletics.
  • Formerly its division coordinator, Rich Schroeder was named Dean of Physical Education and Athletics at De Anza College.
  • Instructor Jeff Forman is serving his second term as vice president of the Board of Directors of the American Massage Therapy Association Counsel of Schools. His most recent book is "Managing Physical Stress with Therapeutic Massage."
  • Kathy Flores, ESL instructor and placement test coordinator, published her book "What Every ESL Student Should Know" with University of Michigan Press.
  • Counselor Melinda Hughes has published her book "Illness Perception and Coping Among African American Women with Lupus."

Distinguished Educator Award

Interim Vice President of Instruction John Swensson honored the following faculty members with the Distinguished Educator Award in recognition of their exemplary teaching in the classroom.

  • Jack Lynch, fall
  • Eugene Rodriguez, winter
  • Julie Phillips, winter
  • Richard Lopez, spring
  • Pauline Yeckley, spring

Contactemail Email:
Phone: 408.864.8948

Last Updated: 1/27/12